Dieter Rams’ 10 principles of good design.

Dieter Rams’ 10 principles of good design.

So far, my design career has been somewhat unorthodox. My last internship was with Forest City Enterprises; as part of their HR department, I helped create materials to encourage FC associates to use the online learning courses FC had purchased. I interacted with human resources on a daily basis- not other designers. Now, at my third internship, I work with MAGNET and Process Technology, using design to directly support an Ohio manufacturer sell high-quality manufacturing equipment to international markets. Not your typical flyers-brochures-business cards gig.

Process Technology is in Mentor, OH, while MAGNET (Manufacturing Advocacy & Growth Network; the non-profit who assisted Process Tech in finding an intern from Cleveland State) has offices and a machine shop on the northwest corner of CSU. Being a lot more convenient for me, it was agreed that I could work at the MAGNET offices, where again, I do NOT work alongside other designers. At MAGNET, I work among engineers, a highly creative and practical group that I see constantly producing results. I have a lot of respect for engineers, and I’m really enjoying the work environment.

This rather long-winded introduction is really just to share 10 principles as detailed by the German industrial designer Dieter Rams. I found them at MAGNET, pinned to someone’s wall. They must’ve thought these principles were worth being reminded of, and after reading them, I think so too. Check them out here.

About Matt Kapela

Hello, I'm a graphic design and psychology student at Cleveland State University. Currently I'm serving as president of CSU's student chapter of AIGA. I'm convinced that when designers work together, great things can happen.

Leave a Reply

